| MAINELLI, Mayor | RESOLVED: That the Court of Common Council holden in the Guildhall of the City of London on Thursday 25 th April 2024, doth hereby appoint the following Committee until the first monting of the Court in April 2025 |
|-----------------|---|
| | the first meeting of the Court in April, 2025. |

CITY OF LONDON POLICE AUTHORITY BOARD

1. Constitution

A non-ward committee consisting of:

- 11 Members elected by the Court of Common Council including:
 - a minimum of one Member who has fewer than five years' service on the Court at the time of their appointment; and,
 - o a minimum of two Members whose primary residence is in the City of London;
- 2 non-voting external members (i.e. non-Members of the Court of Common Council) appointed in accordance with the terms of the Police Authority Board Membership Scheme
- 2 non-voting external members (i.e. non-Members of the Court of Common Council) appointed in accordance with the terms of the Police Authority Board Membership Scheme, with the disapplication of disqualification criteria 9(b) and 9(c), the requirement to reside or work within the City of London.

The Chairman and Deputy Chairman to be elected from among Court of Common Council Members of the Board.

Effective April 2021, there shall be a maximum continuous service limit of three terms of four years, with immediate past Chairs qualifying for a further four-year term. Service as Chair/Deputy Chair shall not count towards an individual's term limit.

2. Quorum

The quorum consists of any five voting Members.

3. Membership 2023/24

The Members referred to in paragraph 1 together with three Members to be appointed this day

- 10 (4) Nicholas Michael Bensted-Smith JP
- 10 (2) James Michael Douglas Thomson, Deputy
- 4 (4) Graham David Packham
- 7 (3) Emma Edhem, Alderman
- 7 (3) Tijs Broeke
- 3 (3) Helen Lesley Fentimen OBE
- 3 (2) Deborah Oliver TD
- 5 (2) Dawn Linsey Wright, Deputy
- 5 (1) Alderman Timothy Hailes
- 2 (1) Jason Groves
- 1 (1) Deputy Madush Gupta

Together with three Members to be appointed this day and two non-City of London Corporation Members: Andrew Lentin (appointed for a four-year term to expire in September 2025) Sir Craig Mackey (appointed for a four-year term to expire in September 2025) Michael Mitchell (appointed for a four-year term to expire in September 2026) Mellissa Collett (appointed for a four-year term to expire in September 2026)

4. Terms of Reference

To be responsible for:-

- securing an efficient and effective police service in both the City of London and, where so designated by the Home Office, nationally, and holding the Commissioner to account for the exercise of his/her functions and those persons under his/her direction and control;
- (b) <u>Issuing agreeing</u>, each year, the <u>Common Council's objectives for the policing of the City of London police area, and for the discharge by the City of London Police of its national or international functions, <u>objectives in the City of London Policing Plan</u>, which shall have regard to the views of local people, the views of the Commissioner and the Strategic Policing Requirement;</u>

- (c) any powers and duties vested in the Court of Common Council as police authority for the City of London by virtue of the City of London Police Act 1839, the Police and Criminal Evidence Act 1984, the Police Acts 1996 (as amended) and 1997, the Criminal Justice and Police Act 2001, the Police Reform Act 2002, the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011 and any other Act or Acts, Statutory Instruments, Orders in Council, Rules or byelaws etc. from time to time in force, save the appointment of the Commissioner of Police which by virtue of Section 3 of the City of London Police Act 1839 remains the responsibility of the Common Council;
- (d) making recommendations to the Court of Common Council regarding the appointment of the Commissioner of the City of London Police;
- (e) to <u>set approve</u> the annual budget and capital programme of the Force;
- (f) monitoring and <u>reviewing scrutinising</u> the Force's performance across a range of equality, diversity and inclusion measures, setting strategic objectives for the Force where appropriate;
- (g) the handling of complaints and the maintenance of standards across the Force;
- (h) monitoring and scrutinising of performance against the City of London Policing Plan, including the Force's strategic priorities as National Lead Force for Fraud;
- (i) monitoring <u>and scrutinising</u> of performance of the force in its capacity as National Lead Force for Fraud in partnership with the Home Office;
- (j) <u>Monitoring everseeing</u> and scrutinising the Force's work to prevent and reduce crime in partnership with relevant agencies in the City of London;
- (k) ensuring local community needs are identified, considered and met as effectively as possible, including through the Policing Plan;
- (I) appointing such committees as are considered necessary for the better performance of its duties; and
- (m) To appoint the Chairman of the Police Pensions Board.